DC Leh chairs meeting to assess Polling Station vulnerability and critical mapping in Leh

Leh, Feb 12, 2024: Deputy Commissioner, Leh Santosh Sukhadeve chaired a meeting to assess polling station vulnerability and critical mapping  and Accessibility /AMF/ Sensitivity of polling stations in Leh  today on February 12.

During the session, DC Leh Sukhadeve highlighted the presence of 70-80 critical polling stations within Leh District. Emphasizing the importance of these stations, he outlined the Election Commission of India’s criteria for identifying critical polling stations.

Notably, he disclosed that 27 polling stations recorded a turnout of over 90% in the last election, while 77 stations saw a vote share exceeding 75% in favor of one candidate. Remarkably, there were no polling stations with less than a 10% turnout in Leh District.

Furthermore, the meeting addressed the imperative of vulnerability mapping. He directed concerned officers to form joint teams to assess vulnerable areas promptly.  He directed the teams to submit comprehensive reports within two to three days, adhering strictly to the guidelines outlined by the Election Commission of India.

The meeting also discussed about ensuring 100 % Assured Minimum Facilities (AMF) in which he instructed the Chief Education Officer to verify the availability ramp and electricity facilities and asked to submit the updated data.

The meeting was attended by Senior Superintendent of Police, Leh; Assistant Commissioner (Dev.), Leh; All Sub Divisional Magistrates of Leh; Chief Education Officer, Leh; Dy. District Election Officer, Leh; Executive Engineer, PWD, Leh; Executive Engineer, PDD, Leh; Executive Engineer, PHE, Leh; All Tehsildar (AEROS) of district, Leh; All Station House Officers of Police Stations of Leh District.