District Advisory Committee approves Village Sanitation Saturation Plan for Jammu

JAMMU, JUNE 21: Deputy Commissioner, Avny Lavasa today chaired a meeting of the District Advisory Committee on Solid Waste Management to finalise the Village Sanitation Saturation Plan 2023-24 under the Swachh Bharat Mission (SBM-G).

The Deputy Commissioner also serves as Chairperson of the District Advisory Committee.

Threadbare discussions were held on declaring Jammu district as an ODF+ model under SBM (G), including authorisation of the Village Sanitation Saturation Plan 2023-24 for all 20 blocks of Jammu District.

The Assistant Commissioner Panchayat briefed the meeting about the various components of the Village Sanitation Plan, including a proper mechanism for door-to-door waste collection facilities and construction of community compost pits/soak pits and a sufficient number of segregation sheds.

Additionally, plastic Waste Management units will be constructed in a cluster-based approach to collect and dispose of 100 percent of waste generated in rural areas of Jammu District. The proposed seven PWMUs will be constructed in an inter-block cluster-based approach at Khour, Dansal, Bishnah, Mandal Phallain, RS Pura, Mardh and Akhnoor for multiple blocks each.

Chief Planning Officer, Yoginder S Katoch; Assistant Commissioner Revenue, Piyush Dhotra; Assistant Commissioner Panchayat, Preeti Sharma; Block Development Officers; Chief Education Officer; District Programme Officer ICDS; representatives of the State Pollution Control Board and other officers were present at the meeting.

After thorough discussion, the Committee approved the Village Sanitation Saturation Plan 2023-24. The Chairperson called upon the concerned officers to take all necessary steps to complete the plan within the stipulated time frame.