DC Leh chairs meeting to discuss vulnerability mapping and identification of critical polling stations

Leh, Dec 09, 2023: In view of the forthcoming General Elections to Lok Sabha in 2024, the District Election Officer/ Deputy Commissioner, Leh, Santosh Sukhadeve chaired a meeting today to discuss the Vulnerability Mapping and Identification of critical Polling Stations at VC room.

During the meeting, ADC Leh/ Deputy District Election Officer, Leh,  Sonam Chosjor, provided a comprehensive overview of the Vulnerability Mapping 2023, a significant initiative launched by the Election Commission of India (ECI).

He added that the vulnerability mapping is being conducted in UT Ladakh for the first time , signifying the region’s commitment to ensuring a fair and transparent electoral process.

He apprised the meeting about the appointment and training of sector officers and their responsibilities, the appointment of Sector Police Officers and designated Police Officers at the Police station level, identification, and action against the person responsible for causing vulnerability. Additionally, confidence-building measures, identification of vulnerable areas, and the post-poll responsibilities of RO/DEO/Observers were among the key topics covered.

Deputy Commissioner Sukhadeve issued specific instructions to the concerned officers, urging them to complete the training and appointment of Sector Officers by December. He outlined plans to implement further instructions from the first week of January. Emphasizing adherence to the guidelines issued by the ECI, DC Leh emphasised the importance of free and fair elections, cautioning against any malpractices. He added that the instructions issued by ECI should be followed in letter and spirit. 

Further, DC Leh Santosh directed the election office to prepare a draft proposal at the earliest and to submit it to his office.

The meeting was attended by  Additional Superintendent of Police , Leh, Shruti Arora; Sub Divisional Magistrate, Nubra, Nyoma, Durbuk, Kharu , Khaltse,  Liker and all the Tehsildars,