2-Day International conference on “Physics for Sustainable Development (ICPSD-2024)” Inaugurated in CUJ

JAMMU, April 04:  Two Days International conference on the title “Physics for Sustainable Development (ICPSD-2024)” was inaugurated in Central University of Jammu. The conference was organised by the Department of Physics and Astronomical Sciences.

Prof. Sanjeev Jain, Hon’ble Vice Chancellor was the chief guest on the occasion while Dr. D. Kanjilal, Former Director IUAC and Prof. H. C. Swart from University of Free State South Africa was the guest of honour. Prof. Arun Bharti from Jammu University was the special guest in this inaugural function. 

Prof. Sanjeev Jain in his inaugural address emphasised on research and innovation in universities for better growth and development of the country. He said that such conferences are always a source of inspiration for the students and faculty. He appreciated the efforts of the Department of Physics in organizing this conference with a large number of delegates coming from different parts of the world.

Dr. D. Kanjilal in his keynote address highlighted the contribution of Physics for the sustainable development of society. He said that it is hoped that the galaxy of intellectuals, experts and faculty members from different institutions would definitely contribute in making this event a memorable one by contributing their research in the said field. 

 Prof. Arun Bharti from University of Jammu while appreciating the efforts of the Department of Physics in organizing this conference made it clear that research and innovation is the only sustainable source of fast development of the country.

 Earlier Prof. Vinay Kumar HOD Physics in his welcome address highlighted the achievements of the department. Prof. Suram Singh Convener of the conference spoke about the theme of the conference.

 Total 150 delegates from all over the world are participating in the conference. Other than oral presentations, poster presentations shall also be there in the conference.

An impressive vote of thanks was presented by Dr. Ashish Kumar, organising secretary of the conference. The proceedings of the inaugural function were conducted by Ms. Umera Nawaz.