DDC Rajouri reviews implementation of Jal Shakti Abhiyan-Catch the Rain 2022

Stresses for strengthening of Water conservation & management efforts

RAJOURI, June 16: District Development Commissioner Rajouri, Vikas Kundal today chaired a meeting to review the implementation of Jal Shakti Abhiyan: Catch the Rain 2022 in the district.

It is pertinent to mention here that the National Water Mission, Ministry of Jal Shakti launched a campaign “Catch the Rain” with the tagline “Catch the rain, where it falls, when it falls” in 2020 to nudge the states and all stakeholders to create Rain Water Harvesting Structures (RWHS) suitable to the climatic conditions and sub-soil strata, with people’s active participation.

The DDC stressed on the need for making extra efforts for water conservation and rainwater harvesting while pointing toward the depleting water level and increase in water demand. He called for advance planning to catch the rain under the Jal Shakti Abhiyan and efficient water management. “Water conservation is not to stop or prevent the use of water but to maximise its use efficiency” he said.

Highlighting the importance of community participation for the success of the campaign in the district, he said there was a need to create awareness and involve the general public to give momentum to the campaign.

He said more than 3400 water bodies have been repaired and renovated in the district and thrust was being laid on water harvesting works under MGNREGA.

He further asked the stakeholder departments to work in cohesion and make dedicated efforts to conserve and preserve water for the present and future generations.

Director USC MOD, Pankaj Pandey and Scientist-B, CGWB NWR, Dhan Prakash also suggested varied measures which need to be taken to further strengthen the water conservation and management efforts in the district.

Among the others, the meeting was attended by Director USC, MOD, Pankaj Pandey; ADC Rajouri, Sachin Dev Singh; Scientist-B, CGWB NWR, Dhan Prakash; CPO, Mohammad Khurshid; CAO, Sohan Singh; DSEO, Sandeep Sharma; ExEn Jal Shakti Rajouri, Mushtaq Ahmed; ExEn Jal Shakti Nowshera, Bashir Mohammad; AD Planning, Mohd Rafi and other concerned officers.