11th International Peace Conference held at CIBS, Leh

Bhikku Sangasena conferred APJ Abdul Kalam World Peace Award

Leh, Sept 21: The 11th International Peace Conference on the occasion of UN- International Day of Peace was held at Central Institute of Buddhist Studies, Leh today. The peace conference was organised by the All India Council for Human Rights, Liberties and Social Justice (AICHLS), New Delhi and Mahabodhi International Meditation Centre (MIMC), Leh in collaboration with Ladakh Buddhist Association, All Ladakh Gompa Association, Anjuman Imamia, Anjuman Moin-ul-Islam, Christian Community, Hindu Mahasabha and Gurudwara Prabandhak Committee.

All of the guest speakers and dignitaries uniformly shared the need and importance of maintaining peace and harmony with oneself and among others focusing on global peace. They also stressed the need of overcoming narrow ideologies and communal discord to develop a new vision towards the world as one family and to accord equal respect to all the different religions and communities existing in the country and the world.

Bhikkhu Sangasena, Founder, Mahabodhi International Meditation Centre, Leh, was conferred with the 7th Dr APJ Abdul Kalam World Peace Award, 2021 on the occasion, for his tremendous effort in promoting peace and fostering human values of integrity, compassionate care and social responsibility. The award was constituted in 2015 by AICHLS.

Similarly, Dr Tsering Nurboo, Surgeon specialist, Nimoo Olthangpa was awarded the Acharya Buddha Rakkhita Humanitarian Award by MIMC, Leh for his selfless medical service to the people of Ladakh.

Chancellor, Asian Academy of Film and Television University, Noida, UP, Sandeep Marwah; Chief Imam and President, All India Imam Association, New Delhi, Dr Umer Ahmed Illyasi; Global Chairman, AICHLS, New Delhi; Global Chairman, Amnesty WorldWide Movement for Women Rights/ Chairperson, Women Wing, All India Council of Human Rights, June Ann Passanah; Archbishop, Diocese of Miao, Arunachal Pradesh, George Palliparambil; Vice President, Ladakh Buddhist Association, Ven. Dr Tsewang Yangjor; President, All Ladakh Gompa Association, Ven Shadup Chamba; President, Anjuman Moin-ul-Islam, Dr Abdul Qayoom; President, Anjuman Imamia, Ashraf Ali Barcha; President, Christian Community of Ladakh, Rev Dechen Chamga; Buddhist Mission Charitable Trust, Punjab, Subhash Pal and Narinder Pal and other dignitaries from different social and religious organisations participated in the peace conference.